The Tesla coil is an electric transformer-like device, which, by using the sector’s 220V, allows raising the voltage up to several hundreds of thousand volts, and sometimes up to several millions for the biggest devices. This is perfectly safe because the intensity of the current at the end is incredibly low. This device allows to get spectacular effects at a low power : our coil, in full work, uses only about 600W, which is far less than a hair-dryer, for instance.

The first Tesla coil was created by Nicolas Tesla (Croatian – 1856-1943) for Chicago’s World Fair in 1893. He submitted a design that generated spectacular electrical sparks that were about 10 meters long and that allowed transmitting electrical current wirelessly.

Tesla went further on his works on electrical resonance (the phenomenon that allows the coil to be operated) in Nevada. There he built a 60m high coil in the hope of making our planet resonate electrically. Unfortunately, our planet’s reaction was disturbing the neighbours and he had to give up his projects after a last experiment in which, after he had literally used all the electrical power of the neighbourhood, a 40m long spark fell on the ground, wiped out a field and created a deflagration that could be heard up to dozens of kilometres round.

Many years later, Tesla would find himself told to be the inventor of radio instead of Edison. Indeed, the coil’s electromagnetic field could be picked up on the other side of the Atlantic, thus allowing the transmission of information.

Nowadays, it seems that the Tesla coil has been completely forgotten. And yet, it still has many fans, especially in the United States, where they build and set up designs of this wonderful device during their leisure.

For the video-games lovers, the famous “Command and Conquer – Red Alert 2” allowed it to be brought out of oblivion with the Tesla Soldier and the Tesla Tower (these two units are actually far away from the reality … )

 

A quite common object inspired from this device is the “plasma ball”.

 

Finally, there are companies that build huge coils designed to be used in the movies industry, in order to create special effects. They can also be used in laboratories in order to test insulating material.

In a less funny way, the big electromagnetic field created around the coil during the use can disrupt, or even destroy the electrical devices. This is what gave the Defence the idea of the electromagnetic bombs that could destroy any communication means and any computerized defence system.

La bobine Tesla est un appareil électrique de type transformateur qui, à partir des 220V du secteur, permet d'élever la tension jusqu'à plusieurs centaines de milliers de volts, voire plusieurs millions pour les plus gros modèles. Le tout sans aucun danger, car l'intensité du courant à la sortie est ridiculement faible. Cet appareil permet d'avoir des effets spectaculaires à basse puissance : notre bobine en plein fonctionnement consomme à peu près 600W, ce qui est bien moins qu'un sèche-cheveux par exemple.

La première bobine Tesla fut mise au point par l'inventeur Nicolas Tesla (Croate - 1856-1943) pour l'exposition universelle de Chicago en 1893. Il y présentait un modèle qui générait des arcs électriques spectaculaires d'une dizaine de mètres et qui permettait de transmettre du courant électrique sans fil.

Tesla poursuivra ses travaux sur la résonance électrique, phénomène qui permet de faire fonctionner la bobine, dans le Nevada. Il y construira une bobine de 60m de haut dans l'espoir de faire résonner électriquement notre planète. Malheureusement, la réponse de la planète dérangeant les habitants voisins, il dut abandonner ses projets au terme d'une dernière expérience au cours de laquelle, après avoir littéralement pompé tout le courant des environs, une étincelle de près de 40m se créa et s'abattit sur le sol, rasant un champ et produisant une déflagration audible à plusieurs dizaines de kilomètres à la ronde.

Bien des années plus tard, Tesla se verra attribuer le titre d'inventeur de la radio à la place d'Edison : en effet, le champ électromagnétique de sa bobine pouvait être capté par delà l'Atlantique, permettant ainsi de transmettre des informations.

De nos jours, la bobine Tesla semble être tombée dans l'oubli le plus complet... Et pourtant, nombreux sont les passionnés, principalement au USA, qui construisent et mettent au point durant leur temps libre des modèles de ce merveilleux appareil.

Pour les amateurs de jeux vidéos, le célèbre "Command and Conquert - Alerte Rouge 2" a permis de la sortir des oubliettes avec le Soldat Tesla et la Tour Tesla (Ces deux unités sont bien loin de la réalité...)

 

Un objet assez commun s'inspirant de cet engin est la "boule à plasma".

Enfin, il existe des sociétés qui construisent des modèles gigantesques et les utilisent dans le domaine du cinéma, pour des effets spéciaux, ou encore des laboratoires pour tester des isolants,...

Moins amusant, le gigantesque champ électromagnétique créé autour de la bobine pendant son fonctionnement peut perturber, voire détruire les appareils électroniques. Ceci a bien entendu suggéré aux militaires l'idée de bombes électromagnétiques, détruisant tout moyen de communication et tout système de défense informatisé.